Week 2: NorCalSpartanTraining

This past week of training started off really well.  Wrapped up a few maxes from my Bulking Season (Offseason training) and was able to get in a few long runs in for my aerobic base phase work.  I have only been able to get in about 8-10 weeks of solid weight training in since the Off Season for OCR is short.  But, I was really happy with the #gainz that were earned. I hit 245# on Bench Press, barely missing 255# (haven’t done consistent bench in a few years, old PR was around 300#, but that was in my early to mid-twenties…)!  I was almost back to my full strength with deadlifting.  I hit 425# Deadlift (first time being consistent with deadlifts since Spring of 2016, old PR is 445#).

My work schedule got shifted a little bit this past week as I moved my coaching schedule in Marysville from Thursday to Tuesday.  Thursday has been my off day due to traveling out of town, but now it will be shifting to Tuesday.  As I came in to Friday I came down with a nasty cold, so I was unable to train Friday, Saturday, and Sunday…ugghhh!  But, here is what I was able to hit last week:

Monday 1/30:

  • Intermediate Class
    • Strength:
      • Max Bench Press- worked up to 245# and missed 255#
    • Secondary:
    • Conditioning (3 Rounds):
      • 400m Run
      • 30 Wall Balls (20#)
      • 10 V-Ups
        • *I didn’t focus on time for this workout, just moved at a quick tempo that I could maintain*

Tuesday 1/31:

  • Off Day (switched from Thursday due to work in Marysville), Still worked Mobility and CARs

shoulder-mobility

Wednesday 2/1:

  • 50+ Min Run at Bidwell 5 Mile
    • Ran 6.2 miles in 55:16 (8:53 avg. mile pace)
      • *goal was just to go out and run for 50 mins, just working aerobic base, terrain had mix of small hills and some muddy areas*
  • Intermediate Class:

bucket-carry

Thursday 2/2:

  • 55+ Min Run at Bidwell 5 Mile
    • Ran 5.8 Miles in 59:28
      • *goal was just to go out and run for 55 mins, just working aerobic base, terrain had mix of small hills and major muddy areas, it would go from light rain to heavy rain*
  • OCR Specific Workout:
    • Strength:
      • 3x150m Bucket Carry @ 75# *goal was not to put the bucket down on each carry*
      • 3xPlank Series-
    • Conditioning  (5 Rounds with 30 sec rest between rounds):
      • 10 Burpees
      • 5 Pull Ups
      • 30 Sec Static Hang in Hollow
        • each round was timed based off how long it took to do the burpees, pull ups, + static hang time
        • Rd 1 = 1:00, Rd 2 = 1:01, Rd 3 = :59, Rd 4 = :59, Rd 5 = :58
          • Barely hung on for the last static hang, was a tough workout

Looking to learn more about Obstacle Course Racing and hate reading to gain information (if you made it this far, chances are you like to read…)? Check out The Obstacle Order Podcast!  They have 102 episodes of great content on OCR and Spartan Racing.

Live in the Northern California Area and need a place to train OCR and Spartan?  NorCal Strength and Conditioning has two locations, Chico and Marysville.  Email me at matt@norcalsc.com for more details and information!

For more things Spartan, OCR, etc. make sure to “Like” Us on Facebook and “Subscribe” to the blog so you don’t miss anything (on the right side bar menu)!

Stay tuned next week for Week 3 of Programming here at NorCalSpartan.com!  Till then, make sure to Get Your Fitness On!

 

 

Leave a Reply

